Table of Contents
Oura Shelved Its IPO: The Wearables Market Reality
Oura pulled a $2.2B IPO at a $15B valuation. The wearables market reality behind that headline, and what it means for the tracker on your kid's wrist.
On September 29, 2026, Oura shelved an initial public offering that would have raised up to $2.2 billion at a valuation of roughly $15 billion. The company was not failing. Revenue was tracking a 90% increase over the prior year, 5.7 million people were paying members, and the Ring 5 had landed well. CEO Tom Hale blamed “uncertainty in the IPO market.” That gap between a healthy business and a withdrawn listing is the wearables market reality worth explaining to a family: the device is cheap relative to the service, and the service depends on a company staying solvent and interested.
Key Takeaways
- Oura’s own filing shows memberships are only about 20% of sales but carry an 89% gross margin. The subscription is the business; the ring is the delivery mechanism.
- The company’s valuation moved from $5.2 billion in December 2024 to $11 billion in October 2025 to a proposed $15 billion in September 2026, then the listing was pulled. Investor confidence in wearables is volatile even when revenue is not.
- An FTC survey of 184 smart products found nearly 89% did not disclose on the manufacturer’s website how long the product would get software updates.
- The FCC’s U.S. Cyber Trust Mark will put a minimum support period end date behind a QR code on the box, which is the single most useful number a parent can read before buying.
- Sleep and activity numbers from consumer wearables are directionally useful and specifically unreliable. A 2021 study in Sleep found all seven tested devices detected sleep well and detected wakefulness poorly.
What Oura actually did on September 29
A shelved IPO is a company withdrawing a planned stock-market listing after filing for it, usually because the price it would get no longer matches what it wanted. Oura had set a range of $40 to $44 per share for 55 million shares, which at the $42 midpoint implied a company worth about $15 billion and proceeds up to $2.2 billion. TechCrunch reported on September 29, 2026 that the offering was delayed indefinitely.
Some context from the filing matters more than the headline. Oura reported $907.9 million in revenue for 2025 and projected a 90% increase for 2026. It held $372 million in cash at the end of June. It had grown from 5 million paying members in June to 5.7 million. By the standards of consumer hardware, those are not distress signals.
What was unusual was the shape of the offering. TechCrunch noted on September 21 that much of the listing was existing shareholders selling, not new money going into the company. Forerunner Ventures held 9.3%, worth roughly $1.20 billion at the proposed price, and planned to sell its entire stake. When early investors are the main sellers, public buyers price that in.
Why the ring is not the product
Here is the mechanism a parent should understand, because it applies to every wearable in the house, not just this one.
A smart ring contains optical sensors that shine light into the skin and measure how much bounces back, an accelerometer that detects motion, and a temperature sensor. That hardware is manufactured once and sold once. The interpretation — the sleep stages, the readiness score, the trend lines — runs on servers the company pays for every month. So the business model splits in two: a one-time hardware margin and a recurring software margin.
Oura’s numbers make the split visible. Memberships were about 20% of sales with an 89% gross margin. That means roughly a fifth of the revenue carries almost all of the profit. The ring is priced to get onto a finger. The membership is priced to stay there.
This is not a criticism. It is a structure, and the structure has a consequence: stop paying, and the hardware keeps collecting data but stops explaining it. Families who have been through this with a home security camera already know the feeling.
The numbers that decide whether a wearable company survives
| What to look at | Oura’s figure (2026 filing) | Why it matters in your house |
|---|---|---|
| Subscription share of revenue | ~20% of sales, 89% gross margin | The part that stops working the month you cancel |
| Paying members | 5.7 million, up from 5 million in June | The base that funds firmware and security patches |
| Cash on hand | $372 million (end of June 2026) | How long servers stay up without new investment |
| Valuation path | $5.2B (Dec 2024) → $11B (Oct 2025) → ~$15B proposed, then shelved | How fast outside confidence moves, independent of revenue |
| Disclosed support period | Not stated in consumer marketing | The number you actually need and almost never get |
That last row is the one worth screenshotting. A family can find a company’s revenue in a filing. It usually cannot find out how many years the device will receive security updates.
What the research says about trusting the numbers on the screen
Wearables measure physiology indirectly, and the gap between measurement and inference is where accuracy goes.
The cleanest evidence comes from Chinoy and colleagues, writing in Sleep in 2021. They compared seven consumer sleep-tracking devices against polysomnography, the electrode-based lab standard. Every device had high sensitivity for detecting sleep, at or above 0.93. Specificity for detecting wakefulness ran from 0.18 to 0.54. In plain terms: if you are asleep, these devices know it; if you are lying awake and still, most of them call it sleep.
Total sleep time varied by brand. The Fitbit Alta HR was off by 2.6 minutes on average. The Garmin Fenix 5S overestimated by 43.7 minutes and the Vivosmart 3 by 46.8 minutes. All six devices that reported sleep stages differed significantly from the lab on light sleep, usually overestimating it.
The authors’ conclusion was reasonable and often misquoted: most of these devices performed as well as or better than research-grade actigraphy on sleep-versus-wake questions. That makes them useful for spotting a trend across three weeks. It does not make a nightly “deep sleep: 48 minutes” readout a medical fact. If a teenager is treating that number as a verdict on their own body, the number is doing harm it was never accurate enough to justify.
What a shelved IPO changes for the device you already own
Nothing, immediately. Oura has cash and members. But the episode is a useful prompt to ask a question most families never ask: if this company stopped caring tomorrow, what would happen to the hardware and the data?
The regulatory answer is still thin. In November 2024, the Federal Trade Commission published a staff survey of 184 smart products — hearing aids, security cameras, door locks and similar categories. Nearly 89% did not disclose on the manufacturer’s website how long the product would receive software updates. When staff ran ordinary internet searches, 124 of the 184 devices still had no findable support duration. Samuel Levine, who directed the FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection, put the stake plainly: “Consumers stand to lose a lot of money if their smart products stop delivering the features they want.”
The FTC also flagged a legal hook. For products sold with a written warranty, failing to tell buyers how long software support lasts may run afoul of the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act.
There is a fix in motion. The FCC adopted the framework for the U.S. Cyber Trust Mark in March 2024, a voluntary cybersecurity label for wireless consumer devices. Fitness trackers are explicitly in scope, alongside cameras, baby monitors, smart appliances and garage door openers. The QR code next to the mark is supposed to show the product’s minimum support period end date, or state that the device is not supported at all. The ioXt Alliance became lead administrator in April 2026, and accreditation bodies were recognised in September 2026. The label is close enough that it is worth looking for on packaging next year.
What to do at home
Read the subscription before the specs
Open the product page and find the recurring cost, then multiply by 36. A $6 monthly membership is $216 over three years, often more than the hardware. Decide whether you are buying that, because that is what you are buying. Our walkthrough of what smartwatches collect and what kids should know covers the data side of the same decision.
Ask for the support end date in writing
Email the company’s support address with one sentence: “Through what date will this model receive security updates?” Keep the reply. If no date comes back, you have learned something useful. This is the exact gap the FTC documented and the Cyber Trust Mark is meant to close.
Separate the raw export from the score
Most platforms let you download your own data. Do it once, so you own a copy of the heart-rate and step history independent of the subscription. The scores are proprietary and will disappear with the account. The underlying numbers are yours and usually exportable as a file.
Set a rule about scores and teenagers
A readiness score is a company’s opinion rendered as a number out of 100. For a 14-year-old already anxious about performance, that opinion can land hard. A workable household rule: look at weekly averages, never the daily score, and never before a test or a game.
What not to do
Do not give a wearable to a child younger than about ten as a health device. There is no clinical validation for that use, and the measurement limits in the Chinoy study get worse with smaller wrists and higher resting heart rates. A step counter as a toy is fine. A “recovery” verdict is not. If you want the fuller argument, see our guide to buying wearable tech for kids.
What to Watch For Over the Next 3 Months
- Week 4: Check whether your wearable’s app has quietly moved a feature you use behind a higher subscription tier. This is the standard response to pressure on recurring revenue, and it tends to arrive in a release note nobody reads.
- Month 2 red flags: A firmware update that fails twice, a support queue that stops answering within a week, or a privacy policy e-mail that mentions a change in “corporate structure.” Any one of those is worth exporting your data over.
- Month 3 self-check: Ask whether anyone in the house has changed a real behaviour because of the device. Earlier bedtime, more walking, an actual conversation with a doctor. If the honest answer is no, the subscription is buying anxiety, not health, and cancelling is the rational move.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Oura going out of business?
No. The company reported $907.9 million in 2025 revenue, projected a 90% increase for 2026, held $372 million in cash at the end of June and had 5.7 million paying members. It chose not to list stock at the price the market was offering. That is a pricing decision, not a solvency event.
If I cancel the membership, does the ring stop working?
Typically the hardware keeps recording and basic functions remain, but the interpretive features — scores, trends, long-term history — go behind the paywall. Check the specific company’s policy before buying, and assume the analysis is the part you are renting.
Are these sleep numbers accurate enough to bring to a paediatrician?
Bring the pattern, not the stages. The 2021 Sleep study found reasonable accuracy for how long someone slept and poor accuracy for wakefulness and sleep stages. “She has woken up at 3 a.m. eleven nights this month” is useful clinical information. “Her REM is 14%” is not.
What should I look for on the box before buying?
A stated minimum support period. Starting with the FCC’s Cyber Trust Mark rollout, the QR code beside the label is meant to carry either a support end date or a statement that the device is unsupported. Until that is common, email support and ask directly.
Why does a cheaper tracker sometimes cost more over time?
Because the hardware price and the service price are set separately. A $99 band with a $10 monthly plan costs $459 across three years. A $299 device with no subscription costs $299. Run that arithmetic before comparing sticker prices.
About the author
Ricky Flores is the founder of HiWave Makers and an electrical engineer with 15+ years of experience building consumer technology at Apple, Samsung, and Texas Instruments. He writes about how kids learn to build, think, and create in a tech-saturated world. Read more at hiwavemakers.com.
Sources
- TechCrunch. (2026, September 29). “Oura shelves its $2.2B IPO, citing ‘uncertainty’ in the market.” TechCrunch. https://techcrunch.com/2026/09/29/oura-shelves-its-2-2b-ipo-citing-uncertainty-in-the-market/
- TechCrunch. (2026, September 21). “Oura’s $2.2B IPO is mostly a payday for existing shareholders.” TechCrunch. https://techcrunch.com/2026/09/21/ouras-2-2b-ipo-is-mostly-a-payday-for-existing-shareholders/
- Federal Trade Commission. (2024, November 26). “Smart Products Surveyed Fail to Provide Consumers with Information on How Long Companies will Provide Software Updates.” FTC Press Release. https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2024/11/smart-products-surveyed-fail-provide-consumers-information-how-long-companies-will-provide-software
- Federal Communications Commission. “Cybersecurity Labeling for Internet of Things (U.S. Cyber Trust Mark).” FCC. https://www.fcc.gov/CyberTrustMark
- Chinoy, E. D., Cuellar, J. A., Huwa, K. E., Jameson, J. T., Watson, C. H., Bessman, S. C., Hirsch, D. A., Cooper, A. D., Drummond, S. P. A., & Markwald, R. R. (2021). “Performance of seven consumer sleep-tracking devices compared with polysomnography.” Sleep, 44(5), zsaa291. https://doi.org/10.1093/sleep/zsaa291
- TechCrunch. (2026, September 30). “Google launches Fitbit Air in India, though its high price might deter the masses.” TechCrunch. https://techcrunch.com/2026/09/30/google-launches-fitbit-air-in-india-though-its-high-price-might-deter-the-masses/